DC Furies


Washington, DC
Connect with the Team
Our Schedule

The Washington Women’s Rugby Football Club, better known as the DC Furies, is one of the oldest women’s rugby clubs in the nation. The Furies participate in both the WPL and have a second side in USA Rugby’s DII. A number of Furies players are currently members of the 15s and 7s Women’s National Team selection pools, and the Capital Geographic Union select side.

The DC Furies was a founding member of the Women’s Premier League in 2009.

Head Coach: Joanna Bader

Joanna Bader has been involved with the DC Furies for over 20 years. After retiring from her 19-year career as a player in the Fall of 2014, Joanna became the Furies’ new head coach. Joanna joined the Furies in 1995 as a rookie to the team and brand new to rugby. She started out as a prop but ultimately spent the majority of her rugby career at lock. In addition to serving as both Treasurer and Ruggerfest Chair, Joanna was Furies captain in both 2007 and 2011 and Furies president from 2005-2006. She played with MARFU All-Stars for several years and was RUGBYMag Women’s Club 15s Player of the Year in 2013.

Head Coach

Joanna Bader