Glendale Merlins

WPL Champions: 2014, 2015

Glendale rugby, established in 2007, is a comprehensive municipal Rugby Program – the only program of its kind in the USA. In 2011, the club started their Elite Women’s Team finishing their inaugural season as Division I runner-ups, the Glendale Raptors challenged into the WPL. Since joining the League in 2012, they have placed first twice and second twice.
Until 2017, all Glendale rugby clubs played under the same name: the Raptors. Each Raptors team contributed to building the shared culture of winning, excellence, and community involvement for which Glendale is known.
In 2017, nearly all Raptors teams will begin the next chapter of the Glendale rugby story as they begin play under a new identity — the Glendale Merlins. Named after a bird of prey known for its ferocity, aerial acrobatics, and sense of loyalty, these teams will continue to build on the tradition and reputation they’ve built for themselves.

Head Coach: Kittery Ruiz
Kittery Ruiz recently retired from her more than two-decade accolade-filled career as both a domestic and international rugby play to make the transition to coaching. During her time as a player, Kittery was a regular member of the USA Women’s National Team for both 7s and 15s. In addition, she competed in the WPL both with Beantown Rugby and the Glendale Raptors.

Head Coach

Kittery Ruiz